International ethecon Awards for 2013 - Call for nominations

Ever since 2006 ethecon – Foundation Ethics & Economics annually presents two awards:

the International ethecon Blue Planet Award
With this award, ethecon honors individuals who have shown outstanding commitment to the conservation and preservation of our Blue Planet.

the International ethecon Black Planet Award
With this award, ethecon exposes and condemns individuals who have contributed to the destruction and downfall of our Blue Planet in an outrageous way.

When ethecon speaks of the Blue Planet, it means the entire animated and inanimated world, the whole social and ecological entity of our planet.

Neither of the international ethecon Prizes entails remuneration. However, the actual prize connected with the „Blue Planet Award“ is a piece of art designed by Katharina Mayer, a renowned photographer from Düsseldorf/Germany. Its gallery value is estimated at not less than 10,000 euros.

Today ethecon asks for nominations for the 2013 awards. Any individual or groups of individuals who meets the above stated requirements may be nominated.

Nomination proposals for the two ethecon awards must be postmarked by April 30, 2013 and sent to:

ethecon – Foundation Ethics & Economics
Board of Directors
P.O. Box 15 04 35
40081 Düsseldorf

Nominations must be made in written form and must include:

Legal notice

Please note that no rights may be derived from the submission of proposals for the two awards.

ethecon Foundation

ethecon - Foundation Ethics & Economics is an internationally operating grassroots foundation located in Berlin, Germany, whose founders and members originate from many different countries and are/were active in social and ecological movements in Germany and throughout the world.

The foundation is dedicated to the strengthening and effective (financial) support of movements advocating justice, peace and ecology.

Founded in 2004, ethecon is still a young and growing foundation wishing to attract further donators and supporters.

Further information is availabe directly through ethecon or under

Earlier Prize Winners

The „Blue Planet Award“ honored:

2006 Diane Wilson / USA

2007 Vandana Shiva / India

2008 José Abreu and Hugo Chavez / both Venezuela

2009 Uri Avnery / Israel

2010 Elias Bierdel / Austria

2011 Angela Davis / USA

2012 Jean Ziegler / Switzerland

The „Black Planet Award“ castigated:

2006 unnamend shareholders and responsible managers of MONSANTO / USA

2007 Liliane Bettencourt (major shareholder) and Peter Brabeck-Letmathe (CEO) of NESTLÉ / Switzerland

2008 Erik Prince (owner) and Gary Jackson, Cofer Black, Chris Taylor, Robert Richter and Brian Bonfiglio (responsible managers) of XE (BLACKWATER) / USA

2009 Owner family Wang and Lee Chih-tsuen (CEO) of FORMOSA PLASTICS GROUP / Taiwan

2010 Tony Hayward (former CEO), Bob Dudley (CEO), Carl-Henric Svanberg (Chairman) and major shareholders of BP / UK

2011 Tsunehisa Katsumata (Chairman), Masataka Shimizu (former President), Toshio Nishizawa (President) and major shareholders of TEPCO / Japan

2012 Ivan Glasenberg (CEO), Simon Murray (Chairman), Tony Hayward (Non-Executive Director) and major shareholders of GLENCORE / Switzerland

Berlin, January 29, 2013
Executive Board and Trustees
ethecon - Foundation Ethics & Economics

back to News

Print preview      back to top130208
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr
Donate online!