Naming the names of those responsible - Call for the nomination of ethecon winners 2013

ethecon - Foundation Ethics & Economics encourages the submission of proposals for winners of this year‚s two International ethecon Awards. ethecon is sending this appeal, Call 2013, to approximately 8,000 national and international organizations.

Individuals may be proposed for the International ethecon Blue Planet Award 2013 who have been outstanding in their commitment to preserve and save the planet. Individuals may be named as contenders for the International ethecon Black Planet Award 2013 who in a shocking way have responsibility for the destruction and ruin of the planet.

ethecon Officer Axel Köhler-Schnura: „What makes the ethecon Awards special is that they focus the greatest attention on the ethical and moral responsibility of individuals for both positive and negative developments on our planet. When the international awards of the foundation honors certain individuals who are committed in an outstanding way to the well-being of our world, these are certainly encouraging examples that invite imitation. When other individuals are pilloried for ruining our planet, then these shocking examples make the inner workings and connections transparent and so both admonish and warn those responsible.“

The prizes are part of the foundation of the International ethecon Blue Planet Project, which ethecon has been managing since 2005 together with important and internationally renowned artists. Starting with Otto Piene‘s ZERO icon in 2005, the Blue Planet Award has been awarded annually. Since 2010, it has been re-created as a valuable piece of art by the famous photographer Prof. Katharina Mayer.

The two ethecon Awards differ from other awards in that they are an integral part of the social movements for peace, justice and environmental protection, such as those located in the World Social Forum. In particular, the presentation of ethecon's Black Planet Award takes place in close consultation with and international cooperation with NGOs from around the world.

The proposals for the ethecon Awards 2013, to 30 April 2013 (date of postmark) should be submitted in writing to:

ethecon - Foundation Ethics & Economics (Board)
PO Box 15 04 35, 40081 Düsseldorf
Fax +49 211 26 11 220 /

The detailed tenders for Call 2013 can be found on the Internet at Nominations will only be accepted with both the contact information for the submitters and the nominee included, as well as a sufficient justification for the nomination, including sources and background material.

The winners of the International ethecon Awards 2013, will be announced in a press conference on November 15, 2013 and at a ceremony as part of a meeting open to the public on November 16, 2013 in Berlin.

The previous ethecon positive prizes have honored Diane Wilson/USA (2006), Vandana Shiva/India (2007), José Abreu and Hugo Chavez/Venezuela (2008), Uri Avnery/Israel (2009), Elias Bierdel/Austria (2010), Angela Davis/USA (2011) and Jean Ziegler/Switzerland (2012). The ethecon negative prizes, on the other hand reviled each of named managers and shareholders of the corporations MONSANTO/USA (2006), NESTLÉ/Switzerland (2007), BLACKWATER (XE)/USA (2008), FORMOSA PLASTICS GROUP/Taiwan (2009), BP/Great Britain (2010), TEPCO/Japan (2011) and GLENCORE/Switzerland (2012).

In contrast to many corporate, family, church, political and state foundations, ethecon is one of the few grassroots foundations empowered by ordinary citizens. There are currently 35 endowment contributors. Following the credo „for a world without exploitation and oppression“, it see its mission in its responsibility toward coming generations. The young foundation is financed through endowment contributions, donations and sustaining memberships.

Print preview      back to top130208
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr
Donate online!